NaPoWriMo: Identity

Oh sweet girl,

I wish I could hold your hand in mine,
tuck your thin blonde hair
behind your ear,
wipe the salted tears
that waterfall
down your freckled face.

I wish I could heal
your heavy beating heart
with my magic kisses
on your forehead
filling all the holes
left inside.

I wish I could look
in those beautiful blue eyes
and convince you of your worth
remind you of your strength
and tell you it’s OK
to cry it out.

But most of all,
I wish I could swallow you whole,
because we are one
but I am strong,
and you are broken,
shattered into a million jagged pieces.

Oh sweet girl,

I wish I could protect you
from the world that leaves you out in the cold.
But it turns out,
I need you more than you need me.
For your internal pain is what gives me strength.
And your fragile softness is what allows me love so tenderly.

But oh sweet girl,
please know that I will never
be the cause of your aching
And oh sweet girl,
please know
I would never dream of leaving you.

Leave a comment